Why is ForteForums spreading viruses? - Kia Forte Forum : Sedan / Koup / Forte5 Forums
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product

ForteForums.com is the premier Kia Forte Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2011, 11:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 861
Garage
Default Why is ForteForums spreading viruses?

I came to visit the site today and I got a popup from Trendmicro that a loadus.exelator is one of the websites that I'm getting directed to.

A search shows it's a rouge site.
__________________
2010 Forte SX Sedan. DDM 4500K HID, LED interior lights, K-badges, Koup-R Strut bar, Solo Performance Catback(Long Mach QRRez), AEM Dryflow (Koup-R filter) and Tints.
Tebore is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2011, 12:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 46
Default

Sometimes the adds that are on the website could have a virus on there. I get that every onces and a while. A site supporter on here i get "viruses" on when i click on their link sometimes.
unorthodoxneon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Brother SX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 184
Garage
Send a message via MSN to Brother SX Send a message via Skype™ to Brother SX
Smile Computer tech response

Quote:
Originally Posted by unorthodoxneon View Post
Sometimes the adds that are on the website could have a virus on there. I get that every onces and a while. A site supporter on here i get "viruses" on when i click on their link sometimes.
I am Comp Tech and deal with this stuff daily.

This site is clean. You more than likely have a browser hijacker (unrelated to this site) Some free stuff you can run and install to check and remove in order
1- Superanti Spyware
2- Malwarebytes
3- Spybot search and Destroy

You can get them clean and fast from FileHippo.com - Download Free Software under the Spyware section.

Recommend to run them in order listed then uninstall Spybot or Super AntiSpyware Dont keep both installed, for performance reasons. If the problem persits after this is dome PM and there is other things we can look at.
__________________
SX Sedan 6MT, Spicy-Red , R-Strut bar, R-(AEM) Air Filter
Brother SX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 03:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Flash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 127
Default

Pretty much what he said.

Also below is a post to the bioware forums about browser security. Talks about stuff like this etc. While it's aimed at gamers the post on a whole is very informative about such things (like banners/ads etc) and how to stop them. Long as hell but very good read for anyone interested in beefing up their security abit.

Anti-Malware and Anti-Virus are great but no longer prevent (or even can detect) some of the newer things out there today. This helps bridge the gap.
Choose Language | BioWare Social Network
__________________
Bright Silver Forte Koup SX 2010

Stuff:

Carbon Fiber Door Handles
Gloss Black Lower Billet Grill.
M&S Steering Wheel Emblem
Koup Wheel Center Caps
3D Rear Koup Badge
M5 Seatbelt Holders
Rear Glass Spoiler
Roadruns Grill
Lip Spoiler
Eyelines
Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 06:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
HerAlterEgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
Posts: 652
Garage
Default

I recommend the Spybot Search & Destroy for anti-spyware, just shut off the Tea Timer service during installation. I recommend AVG Free for anti-viral.
__________________
2010 Forte Koup SX
www.26liter.us Administrator
www.burtonscustoms.com Owner
HerAlterEgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 07:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
gripphard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada, Forte SX
Posts: 689
Default

Tebore - shouldve worn a condom
gripphard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 08:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 861
Garage
Default

That's the thing it's not a hijacker. It must be one of the ads/adservers that are infected.

I never use IE except at work(SHHHH don't tell anyone) and I have ABP on FF so I would never get any ads anyway.

and PSSHHH Never! BAREBACK!
__________________
2010 Forte SX Sedan. DDM 4500K HID, LED interior lights, K-badges, Koup-R Strut bar, Solo Performance Catback(Long Mach QRRez), AEM Dryflow (Koup-R filter) and Tints.
Tebore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 01:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
nouse4aname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 309
Default

Yes some of the ad networks used here are not kosher, which just pushes more people to use adblocker/noscript/etc.
nouse4aname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 01:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: earth
Posts: 43
Send a message via Yahoo to Desiboy30x Send a message via Skype™ to Desiboy30x
Default

i dont really likes ads
it make whole website freakin slow !
but its ok .......
Desiboy30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:49 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.