Kia Forte Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, my first post in the DIY section. And it's an easy question for you young fellows I'm sure. I've been driving for forty years and am used to leaving things pretty much stock. Years ago I learned that changing anything from it's original form usually meant paying a price later on.

Anyway, I just found out that my Forte SX has the second air filter in the lid of the filter housing. Would I be correct in assuming that it's removal would void my powertrain warrenty? Is there a way to remove it without ruining the lid? I would like to get rid of it but don't want to void a 100,000 mile warrenty. My car has the 5 spd auto trans with the 2nd to 3rd shift/shock problem so I will be going (probably multiple times) to the dealer to try to resolve that issue. Granted, a transmission problem should not cause them to look inside the air box. But I want the trans problem resolved without a hassle from Kia. And even after the trans problem is fixed I still want the 100,000 mile protection.

Can I safely remove the filter in the lid under these circumstances?

·
Registered
532 Posts
That second filter is a carbon pre filter and it's there for California emission test if your state goes by those you will have a problem passing your inspection so you might need it. it's a regional thing my car in Texas does not have one

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I guess I need to find out if Maryland requires it. I live in Maryland but bought the car in Pennsylvania. Pa might require it but maybe not Md.

·
Registered
526 Posts
I guess I need to find out if Maryland requires it. I live in Maryland but bought the car in Pennsylvania. Pa might require it but maybe not Md.
Perhaps you should just ask the dealer while your there. As EVERYONE knows on this forum it is a NO,NO to try to pull a fast one on the dealer! Or so I'm told:D

·
Registered
204 Posts