Kia Forte Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay so I've had my 2010 Koup SX for about a month, and so far I love it with no issues. However not all is perfect I'll explain what is happening as best I can.

When the car is cold and for the first good while, the clutch functions exactly as it should with no signs of slippage or any impending issues .. other than the fact that it's very stiff to get into 2nd and 3rd gear when it's cold so I let it warm up and it seems to be fine then - probably just something I have to get used to.

However if I do a lot of stop-and-go driving or basically if I've been on the road for 45 minutes + of non-stop stop and go driving, when I release the clutch in first gear - especially if there's any kind of incline - the car judders and shakes until I start moving. Kind of like if I was a complete noob driving a clutch and I wasn't letting it out completely or giving it enough gas. It's hard for me to illustrate what I'm saying but I'm sure you can imagine what I mean. It's just not a smooth transition at all it's like shake shake shake and then I'm going! It's a pretty unsettling feeling :(.

It'll start usually, like I said, if Im on any kind of incline and generallyally won't do it if I'm going downhill at all. But once it starts uphill it then basically does it all the time when I'm in any kind of flat surface. I could slip it or keep the revs way up I suppose to get going, but I really don't want to do any damage to the clutch, because like I said there's no other indication it's slipping at all.

Once I let the car sit overnight till it's cold it's all back to normal again!

So from what I've been researching to suspect things are something called a conduit? - and a bowden?! Neither of which I've heard of.