Kia Forte Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone else on here had their engine blow due to the defects the 2.0 and 2.4 engines have? If so, has anyone had any sort of good outcome with Kia actually taking ownership of their defective engine and replaced it? Mine spontaneously blew back on Fed 21st, on my way to work. I personally change all fluids on it since I've been a mechanic half my life. The car isn't abused, just gets a lot of miles. Oil change happens once a month due to mileage. Kia told me to go [email protected]*k myself and that it's not their problem. My extended powertrain warranty, doesn't actually cover my powertrain. So I'm stuck paying for a broken car that was clearly defective, and isn't getting fixed by Kia. So I'm wasting money to put a different engine in it that'll actually last. Anyone have input?

Registered
You're not going to want to hear my input and likely won't believe it, but you asked for it so here it is.

Kia/Hyundai has had well-known and major issues with their Theta GDI/turbo engines, and have issued multiple recalls and programs related to those engines. However the engine in your (and my) Forte is a Theta MPI, and does not share that sorry history. Yes, there have been some people (mainly a Canadian Facebook group) showing up on this forum who will tell you that every Forte engine ever built is defective, but I believe that group is totally out to lunch. JMO on that, and you can join up to rant with them if that makes your day.