Kia Forte Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Getting ready to replace the rotor and pad on all four wheels after 110,000 miles on my 17 Forte LX. Why? Because I'm starting to hear a slight scrubbing sound when I stop. I bought some slotted/vented discs and pads from rockauto and am just waiting for a good sunny day to do the job. If any of you have any tips you'd like to share, let me know. I've been working on cars for almost 50 years and ain't afraid to get my hands dirty. I don't know if the calipers are press in or screw in type (like Subaru) but will find out. Also, if there's any tricks to the retaining clips or anything else you know of, please let me know. Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
474 Posts
The most difficult part will probably be getting the old rotors off, they can be stuck on there pretty good.

Just make sure to clean everything good, lube the guide pins, and make sure the retainer clips are well seated and straight.

Usually front calipers are press in and rear are screw in, but I really have no idea on the '17. Either way, both types are relatively easy to push back in.

·
Registered
470 Posts
The most difficult part will probably be getting the old rotors off, they can be stuck on there pretty good.
yes indeed. Needs an impact driver for the screws, which hold the rotor in place. You may need to drill them out even so. A few hits with a hammer will get the rotors loose. I did that and used a crowbar, too.Here's a picture of the impact driver.

Just make sure to clean everything good, lube the guide pins, and make sure the retainer clips are well seated and straight.
Totally. I'd recommend pulling the guide pins out and in case of rust, replace the guide pins and the bushings.
Usually front calipers are press in and rear are screw in, but I really have no idea on the '17. Either way, both types are relatively easy to push back in.