Kia Forte Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2021 Kia Forte GT-Line 2.0L
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need to help someone move a long way and I'm trying to figure out if my 2021 Kia "GT-Line" with 2.0 l four banger is remotely capable of hauling a small trailer 800 or so miles. I've never used a trailer before, so I'm not sure of any potential gotchas, or if the engine is even remotely capable of hauling.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the quick feedback! That's unfortunate, but I was already dubious about hauling any serious weight with this little car. Sadly my friend can't afford a cargo truck, so they'll have to leave a good bit behind.

·
Registered
2021 Forte GT w/GT2, Currant Red, SXTH Element Intercooler Kit, Evilla Exhaust, Takeda S2 Intake
4,140 Posts
Thanks for the quick feedback! That's unfortunate, but I was already dubious about hauling any serious weight with this little car. Sadly my friend can't afford a cargo truck, so they'll have to leave a good bit behind.
Been there before...

Nice that you want to help.

·
Premium Member
540 Posts
Guys? What is wrong with you?

Any car can tow almost anything.
Nowadays, no car in the USA (with the accent on USA) except trucks are "allowed" to tow.

I pulled 2000 lb loads with Forte5 no problem. And both (AT and MT) worked just fine.
I tow with Bolt, although it says it is not designed to tow.

The thing is - if you never towed before or you are expecting the car with a trailer to handle like without one - forget about towing and stop reading here.

The problem is two fold here.
Americans love driving fast with trailers. They can barely drive as is... yet when towing they expect to go 80 mph on the highway. Then, the trailers are never small, because they always need a big one.
Why? Heck I know...