Kia Forte Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

From what I've read and researched...it seems a 50/50 risk to remap the chip. Maybe they will pick it up, maybe they won't. I'm an IT engineer, and I can pick up if firmware or software has been changed. But I am not in the least familiar with the procedures or equipment the dealers use...so I can't say its the same an my environment. My tunist garuntees my they won't pick it up.

Also, I 've been confused by the guys here...does the 2.0L use a MAF or not?

Then also can replacing the CAT with a highflow one in anyway damage the car?

Some guys say the K&N filters need to be oiled...why? And if so, can this damage the car's throttlebody ot other parts?

Please assist as I am not very knoweledgeable with cars engines and tech sides.

Thanks.

·
Registered
708 Posts
do you know what the ECM code is? there's a program called ECUflash it's for soooobaruuus and mitsu's but if you can find out what the ECM code is .. there might be a coorelation between one of the other many world engine counter parts .. or at the very least the gen coupe and if thats the case you might be able to find someone that's already cracked it ..

the reason I bring up ECU flash is because it's an open source thing.. so it's possible yuo could write the definitions if you're feeling ambitious

·
Registered
52 Posts
From K&N website:

The Importance of Oil