Kia Forte Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Few posts late with this, but I just noticed the intro forum.

I'm a 43-year-old husband and father of four. I'm a computer systems analyst/programmer by trade, though my father was a mechanic, and I learned an awful lot about auto repair from him, as I worked in his shop for him for several years before getting out and making my own way.

Over the years, in my house the wife has typically gotten the most dependable vehicle, and I have driven the one that was closest to needing traded-in/put out of our misery. For the last few years, that's been a Pontiac Montana minivan (yay, me).

We've just enrolled our youngest two kids into college, so my mid-life crisis has started to kick in. Paying college tuition x2 means I have to have my crisis on the cheap, so to the Kia lot I went. The funny thing is that, when I took the wife along on the last day of the search (for final approval, of course), she wanted me to buy a Soul. The funny part is that while I love the Soul commercials on TV with the jammin hamsters, she couldn't stand them, but she fell in love with the Soul, and I didn't much care for it. Maybe if it had a V-6....

Anyway, I ended up with a Titanium Koup EX with the 2.0L A/T, sunroof and auto-dimming mirror with HomeLink. I basically got the sunroof and mirror options for free, as they were really wanting to unload their inventory and it was the end of the month. Plus, there is a nice rebate on 2010's right now, and I was able to take advantage of their 20-month/200,000 mi. warranty promotion. All in all I'm really happy with my deal. I managed to avoid financing a lot of the features I will be adding later (a.k.a. my cup is half full :p ). I'm really looking forward to doing a little modding and "making it my own", so to speak.

Suffice it to say I'm not missing the minivan *at all*. :cool:

·
Registered
644 Posts