Kia Forte Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First off, I want to thank NitroCircus for all his help in my previous thread.

I've been doing a lot of research and had a chance to speak with some friends who are car audio enthusiasts the last few days and went from being a complete noob about amps and subs to where I am now, which still isn't much, lol.

Well, for my listening needs and budget, I'm about 99% sure I'm going with JL's 500/1v2 amp and one 10W6v2 sub.
JL Audio 500/1v2 Amplifiers - Car Audio Amps & Amplifiers
JL Audio 10W6v2 Subwoofers - Car Audio Subwoofers

I haven't decided on the enclosure yet but my friends felt a sealed enclosure would fit my musical preferences better (rock/electronica).

I am going to have it professionally installed but it will be some time before I get around to it.

Anyway, still open to opinions...

(btw, NitroCircus, heard nothing but good things about PowerBass products)

·
Premium Member
928 Posts
I own two of each of those in my Forte Sedan. I would advise going ported to JL spec as the 10w6v2's are very tight as is, and you will have much more output with a ported box at lower frequencies. My box was built to JL specs, (actually it's two boxes sharing the same piece of lumber up the middle dividing the large box in two.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I own two of each of those in my Forte Sedan. I would advise going ported to JL spec as the 10w6v2's are very tight as is, and you will have much more output with a ported box at lower frequencies. My box was built to JL specs, (actually it's two boxes sharing the same piece of lumber up the middle dividing the large box in two.
Enclosures are still somewhat of a mystery to me. Where could I get the perfect box specs for this sub? How much would it cost to have that type of box custom made?

·
Premium Member
928 Posts
Box specs are located in the woofer's manual

http://mobile.jlaudio.com/pdfs/7954.pdf