Kia Forte Forum banner

Kia Forte 2014 LX 1.8 - Battery Draining

8K views 30 replies 7 participants last post by  seifer 
#1 ·
Hello everyone,
I have Kia Forte 2014 LX, 1.8 engine, automatic.
I'm having issue with my battery. I have installed brand new battery on 31 March 2022 and it drain if I don’t drive my car for at least 3 days (working from home), I'm having trouble starting it normally. Need to jump start. I had the same issue with my old battery and then the battery itself not holding the charge so I decide to change it.

I'm not a mechanic, but can do basic troubleshooting with help of forums and YouTube videos.

I did the following tests and every things seem to be ok, except for 2 things.

- I have 9 inch screen aftermarket radio/head unit is installed with backup camera. And it was draining the battery so I decide to remove the 15 Amp (Multimedia #1) fuse from passenger compartment fuse box. No power in radio, don't use it for now.
Question: Is removing the 15 Amp radio fuse (multimedia #1) will stop the draining? Radio is still connected.

- The 7.5 Amps (Memory) fuse, does NOT goes to Ohm 0.00, it stays at between 0.09 - 0.11. So little draining here. Also replaced "Memory" 7.5 Amp fuse. Following are connected on Memory fuse:

Driver IMS Module, Driver Smart Key Outside Handle, Passenger Smart Key Outside Handle, BCM, Tire Pressure Monitoring Module, Auto Light & Photo Sensor Instrument Cluster, Data Link Connector, Multipurpose Check Connector, Digital Clock, A/C Control Module, Electro Chromic Mirror, Driver Power Outside Mirror Passenger Power Outside Mirror

• Tested all fuses in Passenger compartment, all OK (except, the draining on "Memory" 7.5 Amp & "Multimedia" 15 Amp (unplugged)).
  • Tested all fuses in engine compartment and all OK.
  • Tested all relay in engine compartment (click/close/open noise and Ohms test) and all OK.
  • Alternator voltage tested, voltage goes to 14.52 when starting the car.
  • Alternator is charging the battery.