Kia Forte Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,
I am new to the Forte Fourm and am puzzled about something. I am the type of guy that likes to learn how things work by taking them apart. Although I am not planning on taking apart my car I do want to know as much as I can about what is installed in it. So today I was crawling around under the dash to familiarize myself with the wiring in case I want to install anything in the near/far future when I saw something on the passenger side of the car. If you go to the kickpanel and look up there is a device that says TD on it. Im not sure what this is and am hoping someone else does and can tell me what it does. One of the reasons I am so interested in this is I keep hearing a sound coming from that general location when I am in drive and holding the brake.
Please help me if you can.

·
Registered
3,919 Posts
No idea, but if you wanna learn stuff about your koup, i suggest you start memorizing
Kia Global Information System (KGIS)

its basically a complete shop manual of your car. tells you how to fix things, how to take apart things, and best of all, it tell you if there's any "fixes" your dealer should do for your car (TSB: technical service bulletin)

·
Registered
405 Posts
WTF ? I almost wrote my life here ?!?

Let's do it twice !

TD refers to the body type of the car. Since it's a brand new model, TD refers to the current version of the Forte/Koup.

If i take by example Hyundai Élantra which is an older model, u have
J1 : first model
J2 : 1996 to 2000
XD / XD2 : [email protected] / [email protected]
HD : [email protected]
MD : 2011+

·
Registered
2021 Forte GT w/GT2, Currant Red, SXTH Element Intercooler Kit, Evilla Exhaust, Takeda S2 Intake
3,897 Posts