Kia Forte Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Has anyone else found the ride to be very bouncy? It seems to me like the shocks are not well matched to the springs. Anyone else noticed this? Any aftermarket solutions to resolve it?

I came from VW where Bilstein and H&R were the hot sauce.

·
Registered
1,428 Posts
I find the ride pretty firm and with certain bumps, a bit skittish. It's either over-damped or too firmly sprung. Not sure which, since I'm not a suspension engineer. My previous BMW had Bilsteins and the ride was even firmer than the Kia, but was always composed. Of course, if you compare the rear suspension of that E39 BMW to the Kia's, you can see why the BMW cost 2X more.

Overall, I think Kia has done a decent job of balancing handling with ride comfort considering the very basic suspension design. I also think the ride improves a little with mileage.

·
Registered
314 Posts
I agree with Walpole's assessment of the SX suspension. Given that the overall design of the Forte's suspension is quite simple, I think Kia did a pretty good job.

To which level Forte five are you referring - EX or SX?

·
Registered
1,796 Posts
I find my EX ride nice and smooth, no extra bouncing that I see in other cars that are worn out a little or alot.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I see that you have the Koup though. I wonder if it is the extra weight of the hatch or something. Its not horrible. I guess I am just used to something a bit smoother.

·
Premium Member
1,020 Posts
Check your tire pressure. The Hankooks are a pretty hard crappy compound.

It's possible the dealer over inflated them. It'll make the ride bouncy. It's funny how people think suspension is all about shocks, springs and geometry. You gotta start at the bottom where the rubber meets the road.

·
Registered
16 Posts