Kia Forte Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
859 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! I'm currently in the United States Army and I'm deploying for quite a while. Honestly one of the hardest parts about me leaving is having to leave my car behind. My Koup is the first car I've ever owned and I've had soo many great memories with it. This is my first time ever storing away a car and I want to do everything right so my Koup will survive my deployment!

Before I ask the question I'll start off by saying, the army will cover any storage costs so I'm leaning towards a climate controlled car storage unit.

So what steps should I do to prevent any corrosion or damage to my car?

·
Registered
431 Posts
Get the electronic corrosion management system, different dealers offer a different product, but as long as you are getting it from your dealer you are good to go. Also will need someone to start her up every other day.. Dunno how you are going to get around that..

·
Premium Member
646 Posts
1. Oil change
2. Stabil on 1/4 to 1/2 tank of gas
3. place carpets under tires where it is being stored to prevent flat spots when the tires deflate.
4. Disconnect battery

I have left vehicles for up to 4 years (when I lived in Michigan with same temps and conditions) without being compromised. When you start it up the first time, make sure you have some fresh gas to pour in the tank first. It will cough and sputter for the first two drives and blow blue smoke from the stabil, but it's always been fine for me after that. Freezing over seasons is ok as long as the first time you try to start it it's not bitter cold. Sometimes you'll also need a new battery, there is no charging them if they just plain ol' go bad. Don't store the battery on concrete, it's supposed to drain the battery quicker.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Two years bro? .. have a lot of buddies who have served in all branches and subdivs but never heard of a 2 year tour!..