Kia Forte Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been running synthetics fluids in all of my vehicles for over 10 years. I wait until 3000 miles to change the oil and then I switch to synthetic on all fluids. I watch the oil fluid color and change when it starts getting dark.

*Engine Oil: 0w-MFGw recommended operating weight (0w-20 in the case of the Forte)
*ATF or MTF: I prefer Royal Purple MAX ATF / MTL (MAX ATF approved for Forte and I will be switching 8.6q of Kia ATF to Max ATF)
*Differential: 75w 90 or Mfg operating
*Seafoam Carbon Remover: Every 10K miles and before smog checks.

I have a few question for the tribe:

1. Has anyone else changed their ATF fluid? If so, what did you use?
2. The tough nugget--Who has done a Differential fluid swap on thier Forte? What cold/op weight fluid did you use?
3. Has anyone else noticed a peppiness after an oil change? I think it has to do with the return to normal "lab" flow rate for the VVT oil control valve. Thoughts?

I can't wait for the Tkits.coms CAI prototype unit to arrive. Is it here already?

·
Registered
746 Posts
I too switch over to synthetic at about 3000k. With the Forte 2.4SX I have tried all synthetics except for the European syn's & Motul. There is more to oil than viscosity. I'm curently using Mobil1 5w-20 syn with the 503 filter. I change it every 4-5000k . As for ATF KIA recommends to only use Diamond SP-111 (semi synthetic).
I'm not sure if Forte ATF has a filter. I do know that some of there other ATF's did not. Partly do to ATF's not being serviced, issues caused by clogged filters.

The tough thing about switching ATF from Diamond SP-111 is, KIA has not released what additive's and quantities are in it. Or, what the base is. Royal Purple, Mobil1 & Wolfshead, claim their ATF products meet or exceed Hyundai/KIA, but how, if Hyundai/KIA have not released what their ATF is.